Sunday, July 04, 2010

Saluting the Signers

Fifty-six patriots signed the Declaration of Independence that we Americans celebrate on this, our national holiday. They were:

President of the Congress: John Hancock.

For New Hampshire: Josiah Bartlett, William Whipple, and Matthew Thornton.

For Massachusetts: Samuel Adams, John Adams, Robert Treat Paine, and Elbridge Gerry.

For Rhode Island: Stephen Hopkins and William Ellery.

For Connecticut: Roger Sherman, Samuel Huntington, William Williams, and Oliver Wolcott.

For New York: William Floyd, Philip Livingston, Francis Lewis, and Lewis Morris.

For New Jersey: Richard Stockton, John Witherspoon, Francis Hopkinson, John Hart, and Abraham Clark.

For Pennsylvania: Robert Morris, Benjamin Rush, Benjamin Franklin, John Morton, George Clymer, James Smith, George Taylor, James Wilson, and George Ross.

For Delaware: George Read, Caesar Rodney, and Thomas McKean.

For Maryland: Samuel Chase, William Paca, Thomas Stone, and Charles Carroll.

For Virginia: George Wythe, Richard Henry Lee, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Harrison, Thomas Nelson, Francis Lightfoot Lee, and Carter Braxton.

For North Carolina: William Hooper, Joseph Hewes, and John Penn.

For South Carolina: Edward Rutledge, Thomas Heyward, Thomas Lynch, and Arthur Middleton.

For Georgia: Button Gwinnett, Lyman Hall, and George Walton.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home